Brothers in blood and in music – The Short Fall are Angelo and Ryan Conway. With harmonies reminiscent of Crowded House, their new single ‘Wait for me’ is the perfect track for lovers of catchy guitar-driven pop rock.

‘Wait for me’ is a departure from The Short Fall’s earlier folk-rock roots, moving towards a more robust, energetic rock sound. The track features vocal and guitar hooks at every turn; trademark vocal harmonies & a soaring guitar solo; it’s evident the Conway brothers are having fun in their songwriting process; something that had alluded them for some time in recent years.

Originally hailing from Rockhampton in regional Queensland, the brothers found themselves at an impasse when younger sibling, Ryan moved to Brisbane in early 2018 to pursue a career as a guitar luthier. After playing and touring original music together for 7 years, they hadn’t completed a new song in over two years. With Ryan just as comfortable building & repairing guitars as he is on stage playing them, there was a time that it might have seemed like The Short Fall had simply played out its natural course.

Fate had other ideas though, with inspiration arriving in the most unlikely form; a pair of high heels & a sequined red dress. Angelo, still living in Rockhampton, was cast as the lead role in Kinky Boots in early 2019 playing Lola – a flamboyant drag Queen. The musical was the first ever regional production of the show in Australia, and it played to a huge sold out season. The overwhelming audience response to the energy & creative freedom this larger than life character inhabited flicked a switch in Angelo’s song writing; lyrics & melodies poured out after lying dormant for what had seemed like an eternity. Replacing their melancholy singer-songwriter ballads are new songs imbued with positivity that reflect their energetic live shows with a full band. In short, just having more fun.

‘Wait for me’ is a song about finding hope through dark times; part social commentary & part personal reflection, there’s enough room for the listener to take away their own meaning from the song’s lyrics.. The Short Fall will be kicking off their single launch tour on Great Keppel Island supporting Daryl Braithwaite in March before playing shows in Brisbane in April & May.

‘Wait for me’ will be available on all streaming platforms & for digital purchase on March 6.